Stupidity works!

After Looking over my results, i can’t say that im happy, but im relieved that i managed to pass.

Its not so much that i didn’t researched my idea in depth, i guess the idea in itself was just bad idea in the judge’s eyes.

My idea was to produce relevent entertaining but educational videos which would benefit students. I came up with the idea a few months back after my 2nd year exams.

My idea came up under scrutiny, be it the process of making it work, the cost and the competition.

Although the judges concluded that my idea is flawed and questionable,  i still believe my idea can work. Because i have been touched by it myself, it has benefited me and i know that because  it has benefited me, it should benefit others too. ( i should mention that i thought i argued back pretty well in the class )

I guess this is what enterpreneurship is all about nowadays ; logical understanding and sound research which makes sense.

Im sorry, but where does feeling and passion come into this? some of the most craziest and damn stupid ideas have become successful:

researched from online college.org

Henry Ford: While Ford is today known for his innovative assembly line and American-made cars, he wasn’t an instant success. In fact, his early businesses failed and left him broke five time before he founded the successful Ford Motor Company.

Walt Disney: Today Disney rakes in billions from merchandise, movies and theme parks around the world, but Walt Disney himself had a bit of a rough start. He was fired by a newspaper editor because, “he lacked imagination and had no good ideas.” After that, Disney started a number of businesses that didn’t last too long and ended with bankruptcy and failure. He kept plugging along, however, and eventually found a recipe for success that worked.

Akio Morita: You may not have heard of Morita but you’ve undoubtedly heard of his company, Sony. Sony’s first product was a rice cooker that unfortunately didn’t cook rice so much as burn it, selling less than 100 units. This first setback didn’t stop Morita and his partners as they pushed forward to create a multi-billion dollar company.

I guess the point im trying to make benefits you as it would benefit me.

“Sometimes, stupid ideas work”

When me and my enterprise group started last year, we didn’t get the best feedback either, we were told by judges that it wasn’t possible, too bizzare, too risky and would never work. That was just from the judges, the students in that room shot us down even more. we didn’t feel very happy leaving that class.

Well lets just says that the book now as sold over 500 books since its launch in febuary, we have won won enterprising group of the year 2009 and have been in many magazines and newspaper since the launch including kingston local. The book also came out in certain waterstone stores and sold out. we are now talking of writing a second book.

I came up with the book idea out of inspiration and my own passion. i didn’t find a gap in the market, i looked at my own life and asked myself what i would have wished for in my life when i was young. we call that introspect.

i know the video idea seems hard to manage, im aware of the competition, i know that by doing these videos, i may appear to be undermining teachers ( which im not ) All i did was took something out of my life that has made a difference in my life, and apply it into business so other people’s live can be benefited too.

My idea is unique in the sense that i know my target marget; its aimed at and relevant to business students in University, Its not for the general public.

From realising this today, i can appreciate every entrepreneur whos idea has ever been shunned away in school, in dragons den, and even in life. we just don’t see why they came up with that idea…through pure inspiration. we just seem to forget…

About sleepygo

Has more than one home
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

